Long Time No Talk

Sorry!  Haven’t been an active blogger lately… been pretty busy with work, classes, and adventures.  Lets backtrack a week or so.

Two weeks ago:

Work was pretty normal this week – nothing new.  I did my usual tasks that include creating the prep sheet for Sisanie’s midday show, blogging, scheduling and writing social media posts, downloading the DJ mix an setting it up to play correctly at noon, segueing the daily music log with the KIIS FM elements, etc.

On Saturday, the 21st, my roommates and I headed to Zuma Beach in Malibu.  (I LOVE Malibu.  I want to move here and just stay on the beach all day.)  It was really awesome, to me this beach was the most similar to a beach you’d find on the east coast because of how much room there was on the sand before you reached the water.  The main difference is super cool lifeguard towers they have on the west coast.  If I was ever going to be a lifeguard at the beach I would definitely work out here.  At first it was only me and my three roommates at the beach but eventually everyone else from our JMU group showed up which was awesome! I love that we all get along so well and like to hang out with one another.

On Sunday we went to The Getty Museum.  I admit, I am not a huge museum person.  I wish I was, but I get bored so easily just looking at painting after painting.  Although, the architectural features of the museum itself were amazing!  It also had this super awesome garden that was actually created as an art piece for the museum.

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 5.21.16 PM

10472092_10152606517739073_753778584705899500_n

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 5.21.28 PM

This past week:

On wednesday I starred in one of KIIS FM’s vine videos!  If you haven’t yet, check it out.  I am a super awkward dancer so I hope you enjoyed watching me awkwardly jam out with a blow up dinosaur.  Mark Ballas also came into the studio on Wednesday!  You may know him as a dancer on Dancing With the Stars… his latest venture and true passion is music.  We were able to watch him perform and be interviewed.  He was remarkable!  You could easily tell that music is in his blood – he even incorporated his fantastic dancing while he played guitar and sang.  If you haven’t heard his hit single Get My Name yet, listen here.

10345781_10152610283794073_6700396662412258466_n

10487230_10152610289324073_1422533198375187088_n

 

On Thursday I did my usual tasks but I also did a lot of work for the Community Council, which is a show featured on KIIS FM that focuses on all things good in the community.  They focus their interviews on local non-profit organizations and events.  I had to find organizations that I thought would be good on the show and contact them to see if they would like to participate.  I also had to do a lot of editing to cut down the interviews and piece them together before I could post up the previously aired shows onto the KIIS FM website.  The Community Council also has blog posts and social media sites that need to mention the organizations that they featured so I was able to go ahead and work on getting everything posted for those outlets.

On Friday I went to Laguna Beach with Kaitlyn and Erika.  It was so cool to be in a town that was once featured on a show I used to love!  I absolutely loved Laguna.  It reminded me of Bethany Beach or Rehobeth Beach because it had a downtown area with tons of restaurants and shops.  While we were there we stopped for lunch at Carmelita’s, a local mexican restaurant.  It was pretty good!  They had some unique margarita selections so I tried the grilled pineapple margarita that had chili powder on the rim while Kaitlyn tried the blackberry margarita.

10453326_10152614386619073_5993817161490903542_n

Yesterday, our group from JMU attended the Dodgers game against the Cardinals.  It was a blowout, we won 9-1.  Our seats were in the outfield in the all0you-can-eat section of the stadium.  I didn’t take full advantage of the amount of food I could have eaten, but that’s ok.  They had nachos (which if you don’t know, are my all time FAVORITE food) so I was pretty content.  I even ate a hot dog, which I never do (because if you don’t know I am really picky and only eat Ballpark brand hot dogs, but I guess I can pretend that a hot dog at a baseball game is equally as good since it is from a ball park….).  My boss from KIIS FM also works at the Dodgers stadium.  She is one of the people in charge of running the contests they run of the big screen with fans so it was really cool being able to see her work.

10478145_10152616996229073_5168210897797201738_n

10500424_10152618969939073_7422613336468990782_n

After the game we were all pretty pooped, so we just vegged out in our living room.  I was too lazy to cook so I went to In & Out for a burger and fries.  I may get majorly hated on for saying this but I actually HATE In & Out.  I only eat it because it is so close to our apartment complex.  The burgers are extremely subpar and the fries are honestly the work fast food fries I have ever tasted.  I don’t really understand all the hype surrounding In & Out, but whatever!  It’s obviously not bad enough to stop me from going there completely, but if I had the choice I would gladly choose a burger from Jack Browns back in Harrisonburg over In & Out every single time.  But to each his own.

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 5.22.03 PM

Today is a lazy Sunday.  I am sitting at the kitchen table blogging, still in my pajamas, and it is nearly 3pm.  But we all need those days sometimes.  Can’t wait to see what adventures this week holds for 4th of July festivites.

 

